• Boomsesteenweg 223, 2610 Wilrijk

  • +32 3 828 29 49

  • info@zien.be

Frequently asked questions

What are the risks assiociated with the procedure?

Just as with any operation, there is always a chance of infection. If an infection is going to develop, it will usually do so within the first week following the procedure. If this happens, the eye turns red and becomes painful, and the visual acuity deteriorates quickly and significantly. If you have any one of these symptoms, it is important that you contact us quickly so that an appropriate treatment can be initiated as soon as possible.

Good hand hygiene is also important when administering eye drops.

Will it be painful?

The procedure will be performed under topical (eye drops) anaesthesia, so you will not feel any pain. You may, however, experience a slight pressure on the eye during the procedure. For several hours after the treatment, some patients experience a slight burning sensation, therefore we recommend sleeping or keeping the eyes closed during that time.

Are both eyes treated at the same time?

This is possible but depends on the type of treatment.

When may I return to work?

In principle, you may return to work the day after the procedure. If you work in an extremely dusty environment or if you have a profession where your eyesight is especially important, we recommend a longer leave period from work.

How long before the eyes are stable again?

The eyesight recovers very quickly. Most patients can already see well on the day of the operation. Although it takes approximately one month before the eyes are stable and the eyesight stops fluctuating.

Will I still need glasses after the procedure?

This depends on the type of procedure you are having done.

Most patients who choose the multifocal lenses will be free of glasses. In approximately 10% of the cases, though, it is possible that you will have to wear reading glasses for the very fine print.

If you choose a laser treatment, you will need reading glasses starting at around the age of 40 to 45. This has nothing to do with the treatment but is just related to the normal ageing process of the eye.

What about reimbursement?

Reimbursement from the National Health Service is possible when you submit your receipt (certificate for reimbursement), and an additional reimbursement is possible under a number of the hospital insurance policies (DKV, AXA, Allianz, KBC, Van Breda International, AG, ….).

Adresse

  • Boomsesteenweg 223, 2610 Wilrijk, Belgium
  • +32 3 828 29 49
  • info@zien.be

Contact Form

Facebook

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.

• Boomsesteenweg 223, 2610 Wilrijk

  • +32 3 828 29 49

  • info@zien.be

Questions fréquentes

Quels sont les risques liés à une intervention ?

Comme pour toute opération, il y a toujours un risque d’infection. Celle-ci apparaît généralement la semaine suivant l’intervention. L'œil devient rouge, est douloureux et l’acuité visuelle diminue rapidement et fortement. Si vous ressentez l’un de ces symptômes, il est important de prendre directement contact avec nous afin de lancer au plus vite le traitement.

Une bonne hygiène des mains est importante lors de l’admission des gouttes.

Vais-je avoir mal ?

L’intervention a lieu sous anesthésie par goutte. Vous ne ressentirez aucune douleur, uniquement une légère pression sur l'œil. Certains patients ressentent une légère brûlure pendant quelques heures suivant le traitement. C’est pourquoi nous conseillons de dormir quelques heures ou de garder les yeux fermés après l’intervention.

Les deux yeux sont-ils traités en même temps ?

Ceci est possible et dépend du type de traitement.

Quand puis-je reprendre le travail ?

En principe, vous pouvez reprendre vos activités professionnelles le jour suivant l’intervention. Si vous travaillez dans un environnement fortement poussiéreux ou exercez une profession où une acuité visuelle est importante, nous vous conseillons de prolonger l’absence au travail.

Combien de temps faut-il pour que les yeux se stabilisent ?

L’acuité visuelle se restaure très vite et la plupart des patients voient déjà bien le jour même de l’intervention. Cela peut prendre environ un mois avant que les yeux se stabilisent et que l’acuité ne change plus.

Devrais-je avoir besoin de lunettes par la suite ?

Cela dépend du type d’intervention.

Si vous optez pour une lentille multifocale, vous n’aurez généralement pas besoin de lunettes. Dans 10 % des cas, il se peut que des lunettes de lecture doivent être portées pour lire les petits caractères.

En cas de traitement au laser à partir de 40 à 45 ans, vous aurez besoin de lunettes de lecture. Ceci n’a rien à voir avec le traitement mais avec le vieillissement normal de l'œil.

Qu’en est-il du remboursement ?

Le remboursement par la mutualité se fait en rentrant une attestation, et un remboursement supplémentaire est possible auprès de certaines assurances hospitalisation (DKV, AXA, Allianz, KBC, Van Breda International, AG, ...)

Adres

  • Boomsesteenweg 223, 2610 Wilrijk
  • +32 3 828 29 49
  • info@zien.be

Contactformulier

Facebook

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.